top of page

Join the Series

Series Scoring

In addition to providing a great racing experience for all participants at every Race the Region event, the series organizers wish to recognize the dedicated runners who train and race hard week after week.

All participants that complete 8 series races will receive commemorative race apparel.

Additionally, at the conclusion of the final Race the Region event, awards will be presented to the Overall Male and Female Series Champion as well as the top 3 Males and Females in each age group.


Race the Region Series Scoring Rules


Participants will be awarded points for each race completed base on their finish place.

Participants must complete a minimum of 3 series races to be considered for placement in the series awards.


Each participants best 8 races will count towards their point total.  


Points will be awarded as follows:

1st Place Overall Male and Female - 30 pts
2nd Place Overall Male and Female - 20 pts
3rd Place Overall Male and Female - 15 pts


The top 5 age group finishers at each race will be awarded points as follow:


1st Place - 10 pts
2nd Place - 9 pts
3rd Place - 8 pts
4th Place - 7 pts
5th Place - 6 pts 


All other participants will receive 1 point for finishing the event.  


After the final event of the year, the Male and Female with the most total points will be recognized as the series champions and will be removed from their age group.  Participants must complete a minimum of 3 series races to be considered for placement in the series awards.


The top 3 males and females with the most points in the following age groups will also receive awards:  10 and under, 11-12, 13-14, 15-19, 20-24, 25-29, 30-34, 35-39, 40-44, 45-49, 50-54, 55-59, 60-64, 65-69, 70-74, 75 and over. 


Ages for the series scoring will be calculated using the participants age on June 30th.  (i.e. if you turn 30 on July 15th, and are 29 on June 30th, you will compete in the 25-29 age group for the series).  Age group awards for individual race awards will be scored as usual using the participant's age on race day.


Series points will be awarded as detailed in the age groups listed above and are independent of the age groups and awards presented by each individual race.  For example, even though a Master's winner may be removed from his/her age group for the purpose of individual race awards, they will remain in their age group for series scoring and will still collect the first place series points for their age group.


Additionally, because Clydesdale/Athena participants are scored in a separate division and not eligible for age group awards, athletes that choose to participate in this division at races that provide for this category will not receive series points for that particular race.

bottom of page